Wednesday, January 25, 2006

Saturday, January 21, 2006


Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Stevie Wonder, Danny Bakewell, Usher, Reverend C.T. Vivian, Justice Leah Ward Sears, Dr. Bobby Jones, Vivica A. Fox, Lorenzo Creighton and Dr. Keith Black make up the list of those who will be honored at the 14th Annual Trumpet Awards. The black tie ceremony will be held at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta on Monday, January 23rd, at 6 p.m. The TRUMPET AWARDS salutes African-American achievements in many diverse fields including law, politics, medicine and entertainment. Chris Tucker will host the commemorative event with LisaRaye McCoy serving as co-host.

The International Civil Rights Walk of Fame will be added to the list of Trumpet Awards events this year. Under the leadership of Xernona Clayton, founder and executive producer of the Trumpets, the Trumpet Awards Foundation recognized the mutual benefit of presenting the Civil Rights Walk of Fame induction ceremony at the same time as the Trumpet Awards.

“Both of these occasions highlight the achievements of African Americans and are event productions of the Foundation. It seems the practical thing to do to enhance the goals of each of the events,” said Ms. Clayton.

The Trumpet Awards Foundation will host a variety of events during the week end of the 2006 TRUMPET AWARDS: Prayer Breakfast, Omni Hotel at CNN Center; Meet the Authors, Omni Hotel at CNN Center; Black Cultural Explosion at Georgia World Congress Center; and A Breakfast for Future Trumpeters.

Chet Brewster and Will Harper, co-producers of the 2006 Trumpet Awards, are the creative team expected to give direction, finesse and flair to the awards ceremony. Brewster graduated from Emerson College, of one of the renowned mass communications schools in the country. He has worked as producer and/or director in many projects including Kings of Comedy tour as well as the movie version, “Original Kings of Comedy.” His other credits include “Laffapalooza,” “The Queens of Comedy,” and video recordings for five of Tyler Perry’s plays,” to name a few. Will Harper, no stranger to the Hollywood scene, is an award-winning director/producer directing shows such as “Behind the Music” with Lenny Kravitz, “Unleashed” with Jamie Foxx, and Oprah’s day time show. He has created a plethora of commercials, music videos, documentaries and broadcast television entertainment for CBS, NBC, TBS, Warner Brothers, Disney, Universal, and Harpo.

The 2006 Trumpet Awards will be aired, for the second year, on TV One. Tapes of the ceremony are made available to schools throughout the country. “The Trumpet Awards is more than glamour and glitz, even though we look forward to the atmosphere that adds to the occasion,” said Ms. Clayton, “The Trumpet Awards sends a message across America and abroad, especially to young students, that African Americans are doing things second to none and have much to be proud.”

The following is a complete list of the 2006 TRUMPET AWARDS Honorees and the awards they will be receiving:

• Dr. Keith Black – Medicine
• Lorenzo Creighton – Business
• Dr. Bobby Jones – Television
• Vivica A. Fox – Film
• Judge Leah Ward Sears – Law
• Usher – Entertainment
• Reverend C. T. Vivian – Civil Rights


• Archbishop Desmond Tutu – Global Award
• Stevie Wonder – Lifetime Achievement Award
• Danny Bakewell – President’s Award

Saturday, January 14, 2006

Friday, January 13, 2006



Photo by T. Julian Gipson

Photo by T.Julian Gipson